Hand Job (Book)

Nope not that kind of hand job, dirty people.. It’s a book- A Catalog Of Type Hand Job by Michael Perry, bought from Waterstones. It’s a book about fonts drawn by hand, collection of different artists. Like a walking exhibition, that you get to keep for good.

I’ve had this book for some time, so it isn’t a recent purchase, but I am sure you can still find it. This book is so me, this is like the holy grail for typographers/graphic artists and lover of font art. I love this book, has so much variety, different mediums, colour, introductions (brief summary) of each artist, their websites. Work that has been used for campaigns, books, big high street stores/fashion, music you name it, demonstrations of how this type of work is used. People forget how much illustrators/artists in general are used in everyday life.

I try to illustrate this into my own work, I am old skool, that’s me, having the rawness, and less perfection compared to digital. Plus it’s more personable. I could go on forever and geek out on you all, but I won’t, don’t worry. Have a look, if you into this type of thing you must buy it, support the arts… I think I should be hired, joke.

Also talking about font, I changed my banner again. Done by my shaky hand, as I find it hard sometimes to keep a steady hand thanks to fibro. But it hasn’t stopped me πŸ˜‰

Do you like my font?
Are you lover of font old or new or bit of both?

5 thoughts on “Hand Job (Book)

Leave a Reply

